Skip To Main Content

BHS Hall of Fame

The purpose of the Burnsville High School Hall of Fame is to recognize individuals or organizations that have made exceptional achievements in their field, significant contributions to BHS and/or unique contributions to their community on a local, state, national or international level. 

The selection of these individuals is intended to recognize and encourage a tradition of excellence, achievement, hard work, commitment and dedication at Burnsville High School. The BHS Hall of Fame honorees can serve as examples of the quality education that the school provides and has fostered over the years and as role models for current students and staff to achieve their own success.  

Class of 2019

Class of 2019 Inductees

  • Class of 2019

Rick Nelson, Class of 1978, was a member of the Burnsville High School Thespian Society from 1976 to 1978, participating in a number of theatrical productions, including “The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds,” “Dracula,” “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest,” “Our Town” and “Showtime USA.” He holds a bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Minnesota. Nelson became a restaurant critic for the Twin Cities Reader in 1993, starting a career in food writing that has included contributions to magazines such as “Food & Wine” and “Travel & Leisure,” selection for publication in four editions of “Best Food Writing,” and a James Beard Award in 2005. Nelson has been the Star Tribune’s restaurant critic since 1998, amassing more than 5,000 bylines. In 2018, he co-authored “The Great Minnesota Cookie Book,” a best-selling cookbook. In the community, he has served as a board member for AIDS Emergency Fund/Every Penny Counts, Ballet of the Dolls dance/theatre company, and the Association of Food Journalists. 

  • Class of 2019
joan brzezinski

Joan Brzezinski, Class of 1980, was a member of the Burnsville High School National Honor Society and earned three varsity letters as a member of the swim team, placing both individually and as a relay member at the state swimming meet in 1979. She graduated with distinction from Hamline University with a bachelor’s degree in East Asian History and was selected among the first three American students to participate in a private university undergraduate academic-year exchange with Peking University in Beijing. In 1991, Brzezinksi earned a master’s degree in International Management from the University of St. Thomas. She joined the University of Minnesota’s China Center in 1997 and has served as director since 2012. She has also served as director of the University’s Confucius Institute since 2008. In those roles, Brzezinski has facilitated academic research and exchange with Chinese institutions, established cross-cultural centers for teaching culture and language in both Minnesota and China, supported delegations from the University and the state of Minnesota on trips to China, and hosted Chinese delegations that included ministers of health, education, and several university presidents.

  • Class of 2019
terry brown

Terry Brown, Class of 1971, is a nationally known and awarded diorama artist and taxidermist. Self-taught, his career has spanned more than 45 years and included numerous awards. In 1992, Brown began working exclusively for museums, founding his restoration and display company, Museum Professionals, in 1997. In his career, he has fabricated mounts for more than 5,000 artifacts, including President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s leg braces, Sitting Bull’s buffalo skull, and artifacts from every president in the 20th and 21st centuries. Brown was trusted with the restoration of Comanche, the horse that survived the Battle of Little Bighorn and was mounted after its death in 1893. In 2019, he was awarded lifetime membership to the Bell Museum of Natural History in St. Paul for his work in moving and restoring the museum’s displays during its move from a previous location in Minneapolis. 

  • Class of 2019
brady bedard

Brady Bedard, Class of 1994, was a member of the varsity football team from 1991 to 1994 and a member of the sophomore baseball team in 1992. He attended the University of Wisconsin-Stout before starting what would become a 20-year career at Sony Music/Columbia Records. He rose through the ranks quickly, starting as a college marketing representative before holding regional radio promotion manager positions in Minneapolis and Atlanta. Bedard became the company’s senior director of national pop radio promotion in New York in 2006, vice president of alternative rock promotion in 2015, and is now senior vice president of pop radio promotion. He has helped develop and promote some of the world’s best-known musical talent, leading promotional campaigns for Beyoncé, Adele, John Legend, One Direction, Daft Punk, Jack White, AC/DC, Arcade Fire and many others.

  • Class of 2019
bruce anderson

Bruce Anderson is a retired Burnsville High School teacher and coach, having taught math from 1975 to 2011. He served as boys’ hockey assistant and head coach from 1975 to 1993, during which his teams made seven trips to the state tournament, capturing two state titles and finishing second twice and third once. From 1995 to 2012, Anderson served as assistant or head coach of the school’s girls’ hockey team, taking them to the state tournament five times, including one runner-up finish. For his work, he was named Assistant Coach of the Year in 2002 and then Coach of the Year in 2007. In 2003, Anderson became the head boys’ and girls’ tennis coach. In five years in that position, he helped athletes to four trips to the singles state tournament, including coaching Tooli Wilkins to two runner-up finishes and one state championship. He was named section Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year in 2006.