Skip To Main Content

District 191 employees recognized for excellence

District 191 employees recognized for excellence


Ten Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 staff members and an entire department are being recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the One91 community with 2022 Community of Excellence (COE) Awards. 

“During a time when One91 staff members have been called on to do more than ever before and through unprecedented circumstances, they have risen and made a way forward for the benefit of our entire community,” said Superintendent Dr. Theresa Battle. “While there are many who deserve recognition for their dedication and professionalism, these staff members and programs stand out in reflecting our mission of Each Student. Future Ready. Community Strong.’”

Students, parents, community members and colleagues were invited to nominate employees in seven categories. A selection committee that included past recipients reviewed nominations and made selections. The award ceremony to honor COE recipients will begin at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 12, in the Mraz Center at Burnsville High School.

The 2022 One91 COE Award Recipients are:

Collaboration and Partnership

  • Food and Nutrition Services Department, District 191

Community Engagement

  • Brionna Bernier, Teacher, William Byrne Elementary

Excellence in Educational Support

  • Julio Neptuno-Temozan, Special Education Educational Assistant, Nicollet Middle School

  • Elliot Lund, Technology Specialist, districtwide

Teaching Excellence

  • Anne Staum, Burnsville High School

  • Matt Berg, Sky Oaks Elementary

  • Vicki Spieler, Early Childhood Teacher, Diamondhead


  • Paul Connell, Teacher, One91 Virtual Academy

Leadership in Action

  • Lyndsay Griffin, Early Childhood Coordinator, Diamondhead

  • Ken Essay, Principal, Harriet Bishop Elementary

Spirit of Excellence

  • Bernie Bien, Lead Nurse, Districtwide

Read more about the Community of Excellence Awards online at