Skip To Main Content

Seniors presented over $161K in scholarships at Foundation 191 ceremony

Seniors presented over $161K in scholarships at Foundation 191 ceremony

Burnsville High School seniors were awarded 110 scholarships totaling $161,850 at this year’s Community Scholarships Award Ceremony on May 17 at the Mraz Center.  

The event, sponsored by Foundation 191, provides graduating seniors with the opportunity to receive college scholarships through its Community Scholarship Program. Many area businesses, organizations, clubs, foundations and individuals fund these scholarships.  

Foundation 191 President Robbie Bunnell said the success of the Pathways program, the impact of District 191 teachers, and the resilience of District 191 students were themes that emerged from this year’s student essays. Bunnell told students in attendance to “continue to grow and as you move forward in your journey, remember that you belong.” She closed by quoting a member of the Class of 2023 who wrote: “The beauty of ISD 191 can be seen in the community coming together to continue to support each other, which inspires me to carry that along with me.”

Scholarship donors and recipients

Amber Budd Atelier Memorial, Alanna Moe and Ikram Osman

Apple Autos, Thomas Soriano Garcia and Jarin Quintuna, 

Burnsville Association of Educational Assistants, Eli Raichert

Burnsville Athletic Club, Madeline Blackbourn and Cade Bunnell

Burnsville Breakfast Rotary, Yohanes Eshete and Audra Johnson

Burnsville High School Tennis, Shawna Bruha, Molly Halvorson, William Henry Madisyn Krumholz and Henry Peterson

Burnsville Hockey Club, Madisyn Krumholz and Olivia Tilbury

Burnsville Noon Rotary, Evan Wilkens

Burnsville Pride, Arianna Evenstad, Abigail Rieke and Jackson Thompson

Burnsville Principals Association, Abigail Briese and  Keyri Campos Castro

Burnsville Savage Lions Club, Samrawit Ameha, Alexa Cornolo, Amanda Hawkins, Jacob Johnson, James Johnson, Matthew Kennedy, Madison Murray, Jemimahqueen Saidu Christian Sivongxay and Ashley Gonzalez Tezoquipa 

Class Acts, Abdulsalam Abas, Fardowsa Abdi, Edgar Alvarez, Shami Aung, Ulises Hernandez, Alberto Meza, D’Nita- Rose Mosley, Hamza Nure, Aubrie Reno, Juan Camilo Sanchez Uribe and Xander White

Daffodil Garden Club, Paige Schwenn 

Dakota Electric Association, Asha Abas, Vincent Birch, Ava Drobnick, Eddie Gonzales, Satta Kanu, Jack Machacek, Charles McGuire, Nicholas Meuser, Jack Steglich and Peter Voigt

Dick Hanson Memorial Michael Goettl, Sydney Hawkins, Ayomide Oladele and Maisy Scheuneman

District 191 Employees, Beck Lobben, Chayse Picard, Mambu Sonie and Elisabeth Wavrunek 

ECMC-AVID 12, Adam Abukar and Jazmin Reyes Lopez

Edward Neill Elementary PTO, Abiel Gebremeskel

Foundation 191 Memorial, Grace Affeldt, Nicholas Larson and Hailey Peterson

Grow Your Own-Department of Education Pathways, Mia Austin, Riannah Darby, Morgan Hanson, John Hove, Ashley Alanis Palacio and Ariana Reynolds 

Harriet Bishop Elementary PTO, Molly Murray

Hinton/Plantenburg Family Scholarship, Patsey Larbi

John and Jenny Soderholm Nursing Scholarship, Athena Tran

Kemmetmueller Photography Sport Star Scholarship, Eleri Deaven

Ken Slipka Baseball Association 191 Scholarship, Bryce Soberski

Ken Slipka Leadership Scholarship, Eli Keirstead

Kopp Family Foundation, Keisha Green, Avery Krick and Aiyana Taipe

Lon Hitch Community Involvement Memorial Scholarship, Jennifer Morocho

Lon Hitch Secondary Education Memorial Scholarship, Eli  Raichert

Mary Kay Lynch Education Scholarship, Martha Wondimu

Mary Lenhardt Memorial Scholarship, Elizabeth Hovde, Siham Ibrahim, Reilly Klug and Isabella Ly

M Health Fairview Ridges Medical Staff Scholarship, William Moe

National Honor Society,  New Creations Senior Scholarship, Huda Ahmed

Old National Bank, Leonard Christenson

PEO-Chapter DP/EI Women’s Scholarship Katelin Hoang

Presbyterian Church of the Apostles Compassionate Justice Scholarship, Mia Austin, Aisha Faqid and Sihan Ibrahim

Renae Gustafson Memorial Scholarship, Jasmine Fasching, Julia Horne and Sidney LaMotte Rob and Vick Roy Scholarship, Benjamin Edwards

Savage American Legion Post 643, Brooke Basten, Cade Bunnell, Reilly Klug, Julian Morris, Dylan Rahier and Madeline Schwarz

Savage Rotary “Service Above Self” Scholarship, John Goettl

Taylor Ziebol Memorial Scholarship, Liyu Tenkir

Walser Foundation “Driving a Stronger Community” Scholarship, Elizabeth Genis